Back on Track, the true story

sochi

Since last September I am struggling with my herniated disc. As many of you knew, my winter never really started. I was able to ride the Olympics in Russia.  Even with a lot of pain I had a lot of fun riding this amazing course in Sochi. Straight back from the Olympics, I had to do a MRI again. The herniated disc didn’t looked really comfortable so I decided to call this winter off. It was a hard decision and for sure not easy. I couldn’t watch my friends snowboarding, because I got too sad that I couldn’t be with them.

Instead of snowboarding and collecting many miles on a airplane I was stoked at home.  I had a lot of time to think what I really want to do. I talked a lot to my parents and my lovely friends! The question came up, what does snowboarding really mean to me, is it worth to get hurt that bad? The simply answer is: Snowboarding means EVERY THING for me! It is my life and without this passion I wouldn’t be the person I am right now!

When I saw this answer so clear, I made a plan. The plan was to get back on track as safety and healthy (not as fast) as possible. I started to train a little bit in the gym and spa area at the Waldhaus Hotel in Flims. Right now I am training every day three hours in the gym in Zurich or at home in Flims. Since last week I am now back training in the nature, I am able to jogge and bike trough the forest! It is nice to go outside and enjoy the sun! This little step gives me the power and motivation to train hard to get back on the snow next winter!

When I’m not in the gym I found a new hobby photography. I try to be creative with my cam and I’m searching for some nice nature photos. I’m sure I found some really nice subjects. I will post my photos on this blog soon! I am planing to do a little reshape on this blog- it’ll take me some more days!

Just saying, I can’t wait to go back on the snow! I want to say thanks to all of you, helping me in this hard time and believe in my as an athlete! Big thanks to my wonderful friends and family members and to my sponsors, neff headwear, giro, head and laax.

I wish you a wonderful weekend!

sina_jamie_isa_nadja

Biking

 

 

 

 

I was born in Flims, 1988. Since I am five years old I snowboard as much as I can. During the season I compete at many different contests all over the world or go out in the backcountry with a photographer or a film maker! For some more introducing please check the following links: My clip from Laax http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OorA7xJGAvI A big thanks for living my dream goes out to: - LAAX my home resort: laax.com - neff: http://www.neffheadwear.com - giro: http://www.giro.com/eu_en/sport/snowboard/ - head: http://www.ridehead.com/snowboard/team/?region=ww&id=178 - Swiss Sport Hilfe: http://www.sporthilfe.ch/de/index.cfm Some results from the past few years: Season 2012/13 - 2nd World Championship in Canada - 2nd World Cup in Czech Republic - 5th at the X Games in Aspen Season 2011/12 - 2nd O'Neill Evolution Davos, Slopestyle - 2nd Burton Canadian Open, Slopestyle - 4th Roxy Snow Pro, Slopestyle - 4th US Open, Slopestyle - 3th TTR Endranking, Slopestyle - 4th TTR Overall Ranking Saison 2010/11 - 2th Burton European Open, Slopestyle - 4th O'Neill Evolution Davos, Slopestyle - 5th X Games Aspen, Slopestyle Saison 2009/10 - 1. US Open Stratton, Slopestyle - 2th Burton European Open, Slopestyle - 3th X Games Europe, Slopestyle - 1. FIS World Cup Calgary, Slopestyle - 2th TTR Overall ranking - 2th Burton Open Series As well i work a lot with those three photographer: Ueli Christoffel: http://www.uelichristoffel.com/daten/START_02.html Gaudenz Danuser: http://gaudenzdanuser.com/ Philipp Ruggli: http://www.philippruggli.ch/start.html

Posted in Life as a Snowboarder
2 comments on “Back on Track, the true story
  1. Eduardo Baptista de Souza says:

    Hi Sina. Are exactly 6: 25 in the morning here and everything is still dark. I read all his words and felt two things: Outflow and OVERCOMING.
    Glad to see you’re with positive thoughts and focusing on next year. Athletes need the body to be able to work, then continue taking care of your body and your physical health. The training will help you a lot. I hope these words of an admirer so far, can give you a little more strength and motivation. Ah! again I wish to commend the region where you live … it really is wonderful. Have a great Sunday. Eduardo – Brazil.

    • sinacandrian says:

      Hey Eduardo, thanks a lot for this kind words! I`ll post some more photos about my region and I’ll visit Brazil soon- maybe this summer! Have a wonderful sunday!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

